Foto Eva Lene Gilje Østensen

Gunnar Wærness

Gunnar Wærness (born 1971) is an author, translator and cabaret artist. Wærness made his debut in 1999 with the poetry collection Kongesplint, for which he was rewared the Tarjei Vesaas First Book Prize. He has since published 5 acclaimed collections of poetry. In 2010 he edited an big anthology of modern poetry from around the world, The World Is Not on the Map with Pedro Carmona-Alvarez. Together with Henrik Skotte, he performs as the artistic duo Brødet og Eselet (The Bread and the Donkey).

In 2018 his poetry collection Friends with Everybody was shortlisted for the Brage Prize (Norway’s national book award) in the fiction category.

Book info
Foreign publisher
  • LanguageForeign publisher